Hare girls in Yorkshire

I don’t know the inside of Sophie Ryder’s mind, neither have I read others opinions of that.
But I have seen the fabulous creatures she has created for the Yorkshire Sculpture Park.
And I like what I see.

Bunny girl (sorry..)

Could this be a better human, descended from ancient leporids, instead of primates?
Or a human disguised in hare form?
She is shown sectioned so that we can see that she is, in fact, the same all the way through; no deceit.

And she (or, She?) is certainly beautiful.
But maybe that’s just me.

The artist has imagined and realised a world of hare-woman hybrids, appearing as noble, playful, considered, and thoughtful beings.
Some on an imposing scale, others just like us.
Approachable and awe-inspiring, both.

Hares and hounds..the hunting dogs with unusual masters.

You can almost address some of the hare-girls as if walking up to friends or acquaintances. Their demeanour invites it.
Its almost a surprise that there is no conversation. Except within yourself.

Crawling..

on the woodland leaf fall. Looking slightly lost. Or feeling for spectacles dropped.
I’m a little unsettled by this ambiguous pose.

The discussion..

..on a topic of mutual interest perhaps. The wise eyed hare and hound casually riding bareback on part-machine horse.

I’m sure these constructs are created to enable you to react to their potential stories, each tale unique to each observer.

Sited in this woodland setting is a kind of wonderland.
Human, familiar, yet beautifully alien.

I like what’s in your head, Sophie Ryder.

 

( and my apologies if I’m completely off the map on this!)

Leave a comment